Istituto Zooprofilattico Sperimentale delle Venezie (IZSVe)
Italian health authority and research organization for animal health and food safety
About us >
+39 049 8084211

National Reference Laboratories

List of EU National Reference Laboratories (NRLs) for Avian Influenza and Newcastle Disease.

Austria
Austrian Agency for Health and Food Safety (AGES)
Institute for Veterinary Disease Control
Robert Koch Gasse 17
2340, Mödling
Website


Head of the NRL for AI
Dr. Eveline Wodak
eveline.wodak@ages.at
Phone +43 5055 5382 30


Head of the NRL for ND
Dr. Sandra Revilla Fernández
sandra.revilla-fernandez@ages.at
Phone +43 5055 5383 20

Belgium
Sciensano
Rue Groeselenberg 99
1180, Ukkel, Brussels
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Mieke Steensels
Mieke.Steensels@sciensano.be
Phone +32 2379 1301

Bulgaria
National Diagnostic and Research Veterinary Medical Institute (NDRVMI)
190 Lomsko Shose Blvd.
1231, Sofia
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Gabriela Goujgoulova
gvgoujgoulova@abv.bg
Phone +359 2934 0719

Croatia
Poultry Centre
Laboratory for Virology and Serology
Heinzelova 55
10000, Zagreb
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Vladimir Savić
vsavichr@yahoo.com
Phone +385 2441 392

Cyprus
State Veterinary Laboratory
Laboratory of Animal Health
Department of Virology
Veterinary Services
1417, Athalassa, Nicosia
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Penelope Papasavva-Stylianou
pstylianou@vs.moa.gov.cy
Phone +357 2280 5144

Czech Republic
Státní Veterinární Ústav Praha
Sídlištní 136/24
16503, Praha 6-Lysolaje
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Jitka Horníčková
jitka.hornickova@svupraha.cz
Phone +420 6049 1748 8

Denmark
Statens Serum Institut
Infectious Disease Preparedness
Department for Virus & Microbiological Special Diagnostics
Artillerivej 5
2300, Copenhagen S
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Charlotte Kristiane Hjulsager
ckhj@ssi.dk
Phone +45 3268 8480

Estonia
Estonian Food and Veterinary Laboratory (VFL)
Kreutzwaldi 30
51006, Tartu
Website


Head of NRL for AI
Dr. Katrin Mähar
katrin.mahar@vetlab.ee
Phone +372 7386 111


Head of NRL for ND
Dr. Taavi Riit
taavi.riit@vetlab.ee
Phone +372 7386 121

Finland
Finnish Food Authority
Mustialankatu 3
00790, Helsinki
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Niina Tammiranta
niina.tammiranta@foodauthority.fi
Phone +358 4048 9337 7

France
French Agency for Food, Environmental and Occupational Health & Safety (ANSES)
41 Rue de Beaucemaine – BP 53
22440, Ploufragan
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Eric Niqueux
Eric.NIQUEUX@anses.fr
lnr_influenza_aviaire@anses.fr
Phone +33 2960 1625 9

Germany
Friedrich-Loeffler-Institut
Südufer 10
17493, Greifswald – Insel Riems
Website


Head of NRL for AI
Dr. Timm Harder
Timm.harder@fli.de
Phone +49 3835 1715 46


Head of NRL for ND
Dr. Christian Grund
Christian.grund@fli.de
Phone +49 3835 1715 45

Greece
Thessaloniki Veterinary Centre (TVC)
Department of Avian Diseases
26th October Street 80
54627, Thessaloniki


Head of the NRL for AI
Dr. George Georgiades
gkgeorgi@gmail.com
Phone +30 2310 5660 66


Directorate of Veterinary Center of Athens
Department of Molecular Diagnostics, FMD, Virological, Rickettsial and Exotic Diseases
25 Neapoleos Street
Agia Paraskevi
15310, Athens


Head of the NRL for ND
Dr. Eleni Chondrokouki
eleni.chondrokouki@yahoo.gr
avianviruslab@minagric.gr
Phone +30 2106 0109 03 (int. 87600 & 87392)/+30 2106 0070 16


Other Reference Contact person
Dr. Aikaterini Kirtzalidou
akirtzalidou@minagric.gr
Phone +30 2106 0114 99

Hungary
National Food Chain Safety Office
Veterinary Diagnostic Directorate (NEBIH)
Laboratory of Virology
Tábornok utca 2
1143, Budapest
Website


Head of NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Péter Malik
MalikP@nebih.gov.hu
Phone +36 4606 375

Ireland
Central Veterinary Research Laboratory (CVRL)
Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine
Backweston Campus, Stacumny Lane
Celbridge, Co. Kildare
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Ronan O’Neill
Ronan.ONeill@agriculture.gov.ie


Other Reference Contact Person
Laura.GarzaCuartero@agriculture.gov.ie

Italy
Istituto Zooprofilattico Sperimentale delle Venezie (IZSVe)
Diagnostic Virology Laboratory
Viale dell’Università 10
35020, Legnaro (PD)
Website


Director of the EURL and Head of NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Calogero Terregino
cterregino@izsvenezie.it
Phone +39 0498 0843 77

Latvia
Institute of Food Safety, Animal health and Environment (BIOR)
3 Lejupes Street
1076, Riga
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Aivars Bērziņš


Other Reference Contact Person
Dr. Santa Ansonska
santa.ansonska@bior.lv
Phone +371 6762 0330

Lithuania
National Food and Veterinary Risk Assessment Institute (NFVRAI)
Kairiukscio str. 10
08409, Vilnius
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Gediminas Pridotkas
info@nmvrvi.lt
Phone +370 5278 0470

Luxembourg
Sciensano (Belgian NRL which also acts as RL for Luxembourg)
Rue Groeselenberg 99
1180, Ukkel, Brussels
Website


Head of Belgian NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Mieke Steensels
Mieke.Steensels@sciensano.be
Phone +32 2379 1301


Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH)
Department of Infection and Immunity
29 Rue Henri Koch
4354 Esch-sur-Alzette
Website


Reference Contact Person
Dr. Chantal Snoeck
Chantal.Snoeck@lih.lu
Phone +352 2697 0627


Laboratoire de Médécine Vétérinaire de l’Etat (LMVE)
1 Rue Louis Rech
3555, Dudelange
Website


Reference Contact Person
Dr. Serge Losch
serge.losch@asv.etat.lu
Phone +352 2478 2542

The Netherlands
Wageningen Bioveterinary Research (WBR)
Houtribweg 39
8221 RA Lelystad
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Nancy Beerens
nancy.beerens@wur.nl
Phone +31 3202 3821 7

Poland
Państwowy Instytut Weterynaryjny
Państwowy Instytut Badawczy
Aleja Partyzantów 57
24-100, Puławy
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Krzysztof Śmietanka
ksmiet@piwet.pulawy.pl
Phone +48 8188 9306 5

Portugal
Instituto Nacional de Investigação Agrária e Veterinária, I.P. (INIAV, I.P.)
Avenida da República
Quinta do Marquês
2780 – 157, Oeiras
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Miguel Fevereiro
miguel.fevereiro@iniav.pt
Phone +351 2144 0350 0

Romania
Institute for Diagnosis and Animal Health (IDAH)
Str. Dr. Staicovici 63
050557, Bucharest
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Iuliana Onita
onita.iuliana@idah.ro
Phone +40 0374 3220 00/+40 0374 3220 13

Slovakia
State Veterinary Institute
Pod Dráhami 918
96086, Zvolen


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Martin Tinak
tinak@svuzv.sk
Phone +421 9071 2399 9

Slovenia
University of Ljubljana – Veterinary Faculty / National Veterinary Institute
Gerbičeva 60
1000, Ljubljana
Website


Head of the NRL for AI
Dr. Brigita Slavec
brigita.slavec@vf.uni-lj.si
Phone +386 1477 9240


Head of the NRL for ND
Dr. Uroš Krapež
uros.krapez@vf.uni-lj.si
Phone +386 1477 9247

Spain
Laboratorio Central de Veterinaria (LCV)
Carretera M-106 (Km 1,4)
28110 Algete, Madrid
Website


Head of the NRL for AI
Dr. Azucena Sánchez
azusan@mapa.es
+34 9134 7926 6


Head of the NRL for ND
Dr. José Antonio Bouzada Rey
jbouzada@mapa.es
Phone +34 9134 7191 2

Sweden
Statens Veterinärmedicinska Anstalt / National Veterinary Institute (SVA)
Department of Microbiology
Travvägen 20
75189, Uppsala
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Dr. Siamak Zohari
Siamak.Zohari@SVA.se
Phone +46 7223 8148 0/+46 1867 4106

United Kingdom
Animal and Plant Health Agency (APHA)
Weybridge, Woodham Lane
New Haw, Addlestone
Surrey, KT15 3NB
Website


Head of the NRL for AI and ND
Prof. Ian Brown
Ian.Brown@apha.gov.uk
Phone +44 2080 2696 80/+44 2078 9551 84

© Istituto Zooprofilattico Sperimentale delle Venezie
Istituto Zooprofilattico Sperimentale delle Venezie
Viale dell'Università 10, 35020 Legnaro (PD)
Tel: +39 049 8084211 | Fax: +39 049 8830178
E-mail: comunicazione@izsvenezie.it
PEC: izsvenezie@legalmail.it
VAT: 00206200289